Military · Wreath

DIY Army Wreath

I have been wanting to make a military wreath for a while, I can’t remember where I saw one at but I thought it was so cool that I wanted to make my own. Since the Army upgraded to OCP uniforms my husband hasn’t used his old ACU’s for a while.  He has a few of the ACU uniforms so I asked if he could part with a pair of pants so I could use them for my project, which he gladly agreed to.  I bought my foam wreath and fabric at Hobby Lobby and the pins I got at Target(I got them on the second day while I was running a few errands).

The things you will need:

A foam wreath
About 300 pins
Red, white and Blue fabric 1 yard each
Old ACU’s or any military uniform or military camo fabric
Time

Optional:
Last name
Dog tags
American Flag


The first thing to do is cut your fabric, I cut about 3×3 inch squares. They weren’t exact, I free handed it using a scissors. The pants were kind of hard to cut just because all the pockets, I used some of the pieces that had velcro and buttons to add a little bit of character to it.

Make a triangle with your square piece of fabric by bringing two opposite corners together, then bring the other two opposite ends together so all four ends meet, put the pin through all the corners, then fluff it out and pin it to the foam.

IMG_1489
To make the stars, just add a few white pieces to the blue sporadically.

IMG_1530For the finishing touches I added our last name, dog tags and the American flag. I love the way it turned out! I hope you enjoyed this little tutorial! 🙂

4 thoughts on “DIY Army Wreath

  1. I’ve always wanted to make one of these too. The pins make me nervous though. I feel like it might easily fall asleep with just those pins.

    Like

  2. Thanks for this great tutorial! I’m not super crafty, projects rarely turn out the way they look online but this was super simple to make and mine looks great thanks to your easy design. I opted to use a blouse instead of trousers and it only took one blouse to cover half of a 48″ wreath. I bought a yard each of red, white, and blue and have enough left over to probably make a wreath that is just red, white, and blue. I used sewing pins for most of the wreath and switched to floral pins when I ran out. The floral pins are longer but more flimsy and harder to use. Thanks again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

