Traveling · Uncategorized

Airplanes

So lets be real. Traveling with two toddlers is never easy. It can be pretty tough whether its on a plane or in a car for long periods of time. Here are a few things that helped me get through our plane rides and our very long road trip from Alaska to Georgia.

I’ll start with the airplane ride since that one was seemed tougher than the car ride. First what did I pack every thing in when we were on the plane ride. I used the Lug Tuk Tuk Carry All Bag from Amazon.com. It has so many pockets and it also came with a changing pad so I didn’t have to set my kids on the dirty changing table-eek!!

Next were toys, I knew I needed toys that would be small but long lasting entertainment for my one and two year olds. String fruit loops, Cheerios or any other type of cereal your child likes with dental floss and make a necklace out of it. It was an easy snack and it lasts a while… can be a little messy though.

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 9.02.55 PMI bought little pom pom balls and asked the flight attendant for a small bottle of water(yes they do have them.. just have to specify that you want the little water bottles). I then filled the kids waters up with the little water bottles since you can bring water though security then I let them put the pom poms into the bottles. This seemed to be a good quiet and long lasting toy that was super easy and light weight.

Next was stickers, I used the gel window stickers and let my kids put them on the window of the plane and also the tray table they have on the seats. It kept them busy for a while.. but they also started to tear them up towards the end. But they were still quiet- haha!

I bought a pill box and put little snacks and small toys in the slots. My one year old liked opening and closing the slots.

My First Library Books were also a big hit with my two girls. They love books so me reading to them and also them just looking at the books kept them occupied for a little while.

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 9.09.30 PMI saved the best for last! Play-dough! Yep, it kept them busy for at least an hour. I would bring out new play-dough tools every 15-20 mins and I think that helped their imagination to keep going with the creations they came up with.

Last but not least, I had our tablet filled with Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, Doc McStuffins and a few other shows that my kids like to watch.

We had a 6 hour flight from Alaska to Minnesota so I packed 10 diapers (never know what could happen with two kids in diapers), wipes, my kids’ water bottles, pacifiers, crackers, suckers, gummie bunnies, pop tarts and clorox wipes for wiping down every inch of space we were in.

Hope you’re able to get a few good ideas from our plane ride experience! Remember kids are kids and they will have their tantrums so don’t worry too much about people around you, most of them will understand.

 

 

Leave a Reply

